In the News

Standard

Yesterday my senior class was featured on the local 6 and 11 o’clock evening news!  The broadcast was also on the station’s website.  It was such a neat experience and I was really pleased with my kids!

I received an email about 15 minutes before my class started from the district’s spokeperson informing me that a camera crew was headed my way.  They wanted to spotlight a teacher who was addressing the significance of Obama’s nomination.  Apparently somebody told them about me!

They are writing letters to the presidential candidates to persuade them to give attention to the issues that they feel are essential to their future.  This is a project sponsered by Google and the National Writing Project (I am a teacher-consultant for our local chapter).  The letters will be published on an online forum for all the world to see. 

Next week I have representatives from our state’s Republican and Democratic offices coming to present .  This will provide the students with more insight about each political party and allow them to write a more detailed and knowledgable letter.

I received many job well done calls, texts, and emails from friends, family, and former students who saw us on the news.  It was actually a pretty indepth segment.

However, only three of my colleagues commented on the story–the principal nor the vice principal was one of them!  Over the span of six years my students and I have been in the newspaper twice and covered on the news two times as well.  I have to say that this one was the best.  The reporter did a great job on this story. 

I am really proud of my students!

7 responses »

  1. Dear Morocco

    Steve Fox forwarded a link about this story to us at the National Writing Project. Watching you and your students was so amazing, and now reading about some of the other things you have planned makes it even more special. This is just what my colleague at Google and I hoped for then this whole thing was a little ‘baby idea.’ Thank you so much for everything you do for your students, your community, and your friends and family. I hope one day to get to meet you.
    Elyse at NWP

  2. Elyse~

    Thank you for your kind words! I am so fortunate to be a part of the ITWWP. That was so awesome of Mr. Fox to forward the link to you guys! I really have to give him credit because he was the first to make me aware of the project.

    It would be great to meet you and the rest of the NWP team one day in the future!

  3. This is AMAZING! How wonderful for you to be recognized for teaching our children to think and make their voices heard! Good for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

