In My DNA

Standard

Hello all! I know it’s been a long, long while since I stopped by to chat on Morocco’s Bazaar. But I’m back!

One of my goals for the year was to have my genealogy traced. I was forunate enough to receive a kit for my birthday and the results came back last night.

It was somewhat emotional for me. Half of my DNA has been a mystery to me. This has, at least, unveiled a bit of it. I was even matched with a first cousin and that surprised me. I was only expecting to learn about my ancestral make up. But I have already had two cousins message me since last night!

 

DNA

As you ca see, I am primarily from the “hinge” of Africa which is known as Cameroon. According to The Fact File, it is the most “urbane” and “ethnically diverse nation” in West Africa. I read a few facts about the country and learned that French and English are the two offcial languages. Perhaps this explains my desire to become fluent in French. Also, Cameroon borders Chad, which is also the name of my oldest son.

Cameroon

I am looking forward to learning more about my roots as well as connecting with new relatives!

Leave a comment