Mommy

Standard

Last night an employee from the residential treatment hospital called because Evan wanted to speak with us.  I held the line waiting for the call to be transferred to him.  When Everett told him I was on the line, with excitement in his voice he sang “Mommy!”  I was shocked.  He has never called me this before.  When he got on the phone I asked him what he had said.  He said “Everett told me you were on the phone and I said Mommy.”  So I hadn’t misheard him.  I quickly changed the subject because I was a bit uncomfortable.  I started feeling guilty like I was betraying Eliza in some way.

 

I knew that Eliza would not like him calling me this.  I can’t say that I blame her.  During our conversation I let him know that his mom loved him and asked if he wanted me to relay any messages to her.  He wanted me to tell her that he loved and missed her.  He also asked how she was doing and I assured him that she was fine.

 

Even though I did not initiate the term of endearment, she would never believe it.  She would assume that I told him or better yet, made him call me mommy.  Though I really think it was a fluke or a slip of the tongue on his part.  However, last year in a fit of emotion he did tell me that he wished I could be his mom.  Evan is just so needy right now.  He needs a mother.  I guess I am the next best thing since Eliza is not available.

3 responses »

  1. Morocco, I agree with Kweenmama, it’s like anything else these days in life, (you) do the work, (you) put in the time, (you) give the effort, why not have the title that goes with the job? I am reminded of a saying I heard long ago, ( any woman can give life to a child), (but it takes a mommy to raise that child ). Don’t feel guilty if you hear him call you that again, it does not mean he cares less for Eliza, it just means you are giving him everything he needs and he is greatful.

  2. I think it’s wonderful that his bestowed this term of endearment upon you. For whatever reason, he felt like calling you “mommy” and it’s wonderful!

Leave a Reply

