Love Is Patient

Standard

For Christmas Morocco gifted Husband and I a pre-order gift certificate of the Christian movie Fireproof.  The movie came out on DVD at the end of January.  With so much going on we had not gotten around to watch the movie until now.

So Sunday evening Husband and I settled down with two other couples to watch the movie.  The acting was not all that great but the message was positive.  The plot is about a married couple on the verge of divorce.  The husband sought the advice of his father.  Upon doing so the father gave a journal called The Love Dare to his son.  The journal is a 40 day challenge for the husband to show unconditional love towards his wife.

Therefore the husband starts the challenge.  The wife could have cared less about the changes in her husband.  The husband called his father often saying he wanted to give up.  The father persuaded the husband to keep fighting and continue the challenge.

I purchased The Love Dare and study guide for Husband and I to take the 40 day challenge.  We are not having issues like the charachters in the movie but marriage is hard work!  In my everyday battle for self improvement I/we need to work just as hard for our marriage.

                                                    Day 1 Love Is Patient

Be completely humble and gentle: Be patient bearing with one another in love.  Ephesians 4:2 NIV

                                                           Today’s Dare

In a number of ways our words often reflect the condition of our heart.  For the next day, resolve to demonstrate patience and to say nothing negative to your spouse at all.  If the temptation arises, choose not to say anything.  It’s better to hold your tongue than to say something you’ll regret.

Even though The Love Dare focuses on married couples there are activities that can be applied to everyday life.  I’m sure I’ll post more of the dares as I go through the 40 day challenge.  I’m on day 3 now and I must say that I am so glad I decieded to take the challenge.

Everyone must be quick to hear, slow to speak and slow to anger.  James 1:19

8 responses »

  1. I am glad that you guys were finally able to watch it! I also think we could all benefit from taking a love dare in all of our relationships–not just romantic. I am going to take on the challenge with students, friends, and family. Keeping posting the dares!

  2. Rhonda what a great post. I’ve heard that the movie is very insightful. Morocco, I love the idea of the love dare in all relationships, especially those that are most difficult.

    My husband and I are so lucky because our previous partners were so horrible that our marriage to each other is fantastic. I’d love to read that book, though. It never hurts to get some great ideas on how to make things more interesting and fun! =)

  3. Thank you for the movie comments. My son got the DVD for his confirmation, and we are going to watch it this weekend. It sounds like it has a great message. The tips you suggested are great. I have been married to the same guy for 24 years, and I am still trying to figure him out!!!! 🙂

  4. Morocco~I just want to thank you again for the movie. The other two couples that watched the Fireproof with us are also doingThe love Dare.

    Stacy~I highly recommend you watch Fireproof and read the book.

    Doraz~I hope you enjoy the movie! Husband and I are getting ready to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We have been together for 13 years. So I know what you mean. Wow 24 years! I wonder what we will be like at that mark…

    Leila~I will see what I can do. I’m doing good if I get one post done each week…so busy. Can’t wait until school is out! LOL!

  5. I’ve heard of the movie, but haven’t seen it yet. The love dares sound great. I hope you do continue to post about them. They would be helpful to so many.

  6. What an amazing gift! It is a great movie, because it touches you so deeply. You are right Morocco. So often we take advantage of those that we care about. We don’t give them the time and respect that they deserve, often due to our intimacy with them.

Leave a Reply

