Welcome Back!

Standard

Day 1: What a day it has been! Today was my first day of school.  It was a day of mass confusion and overall craziness.  A fight took place as soon as the doors opened.  Many of the kids were resentful to be back at school already.  I could hear Pink Floyd singing:

We don’t need no education
We don’t need no thought control
No dark sarcasm in the classroom
Teachers leave them kids alone
Hey! Teachers! Leave them kids alone!
All in all it’s just another brick in the wall.
All in all you’re just another brick in the wall.

Day 5:  Not much has changed from day one.  I have a class of 67 with a room that contains 30 desks!  We have masses of students who do not have a schedule, therefore it is safe to conclude that my other classes will swell as well. 

The majority of the students do not have lockers or ID’s.  Only a handful have text books.

We have a new ridiculously long lesson plan template that has already garnered over 300 complaints with the union.

We have a new principal who has his hands full.

We have added grades 7-8.  We also have a group of “under/over” students in grades 5 and 6.  They are ages 15-16 years old.

My back is strained terribly from lifting boxes, hauling the 70 literature and grammar tomes for my classroom set, and removing desks that were stacked on top of each other.  I mean seriously, I had to stay reclined over the weekend because my back felt so terrible.

Information and communication is not flowing very well between administration and teachers.  We are often told about things the morning of.  Case in point, I was told the day before school started that I was scheduled to teach a section of etymology. Had I known about this in advance, I could have spent time in the summer creating lessons for this provocative subject.  But no, that would have been too convenient for me!

I feel exhausted already!

But I still can see silver linings:

  • I have a helpful resource teacher for period 1
  • I have a job that I am healthy enough to attend daily
  • I have a fair amount of students who seem eager to learn
  • Yesterday a student gifted me with a composition notebook that she picked up specifically for me!
  • I am in a remodeled classroom
Welcome!

Welcome!

My bulletin boards, I reserved one for student work

My bulletin boards, I reserved one for student work

I love my dry erase boards!

I love my dry erase boards!

Reading, my favorite sport!

Reading, my favorite sport!

5 responses »

  1. That does sound crazy! 67 Students in one class with only 30 desks? Huh? A class of 67…I just don’t know how you cope with that. Thanks for sharing the pics, your classroom looks lovely.

    Strength be with you!

  2. I got tired just reading your post. 67 students. 30 desks. Students without schedules and ID’s. I’m glad you have such a sunny outlook on it. Good luck with the new school year!

  3. Thank God for blessing this ear with people like you, Morocco! Thank you for devoting yourself to the underappreciated profession of teaching. I’ll keep you in my prayers dear one.

  4. 67 STUDENTS!!??!!! My jaw dropped. I will quit complaining. I will quit complaining. I will quit complaining.

    I liked seeing the pictures of your classroom. Keep us updated if it gets any better.

Leave a Reply

