The Lamest of Them All

Standard

So I go to Wal-Mart to get my oil changed and buy cleaning supplies. Something told me NOT to go there, but trying to kill two birds with one stone, I went anyway. Not to mention, I had my two-year-old with me and I figured I could entertain him better in Wal-Mart versus a Jiffy Lube.

An hour later I exited feeling like I accomplished something. I stopped at the Marsh next door and went through the drive through at Arby’s for a quick bite. About a quarter of a mile down the road, cars next to me started honking wildly so I rolled my window down. “You have something leaking from your car!” everyone in the vehicle next to me yelled. I thanked them and that’s when I noticed the smoke. I pulled over and indeed it was something black leaking from under the hood.

Instantly a car pulled behind me and asked if I needed help. By that time I was on the phone with the Tire & Lube Express. The good Samaritan asked if he could pop the hood and take a look. The two gentlemen immediately ascertained that the oil plug had not been tightened. I explained this to the service manager and asked for assistance.

Livid, I spent 13 minutes on hold before I hung up and called the general manager. I demanded that he send someone to help me as I could not drive back to Wal-Mart with no oil in my car.

Another good Samaritan stopped and asked if I needed help. He sat and talked with me awhile.

The same guys from earlier who first stopped to see if I needed help came back to see if someone from Wal-Mart had made it yet.
Two men from Wal-Mart arrived ten minutes later. One had to go back to the store because he didn’t bring pliers!

I am waiting as I write this…to be continued.

20120426-173907.jpg

20120426-173930.jpg

20120426-173947.jpg

6 responses »

  1. Loom on your receipt. See that charge for “disposal” or “environmental fee”? You should get a refund on that. They clearly did not dispose of that oil properly.

    Glad you got stopped before you blew your engine!

    • I’ll have to check that out! Omg, that would have really terrified me! Thank goodness I had the sense enough to stay put and not try and return to the “scene of the crime” so to speak.

  2. I’m just flabberghasted. I can’t even formulate intelligent retorts or responses. Of course they should redo the work, refund all money, and give you something else. But it’s more than that. They should be truly, amazingly sorry for the trouble they caused you.

    On the plus side, it’s good that there are wonderful kind people in the world who look out for each other.

    I’m very interested in reading how this all works out. Good luck!

  3. IKR! Not only did I have to spend almoist two hours in a parking lot while I waited for the error to be corrected, it was two hours of my life that I will never have back! What unnerves me the most is that the potential major damage one act of negligence could have caused!

    I agree Suzanne. I was really touched at the thoughtfulness of the people who did come to my aid.

    • I forgot to ask. How did your 2-year-old take it? I ask because of the irony of going to Walmart to entertain him in the first place was what started this. I can’t imagine 2 hours in a parking lot with one. Well… maybe I can. After all, smart phones have TVs and movies and all. 🙂 Hope you have a beautiful Friday.

      • So much for irony–he slept 95% of the time we were in the store. He actually handled it pretty well! He grew upset when I was on the phone with the general manager because I was using my “no nonsense” voice, but he was fine after I let him listen to the Backyardigan’s on my iphone. Life is strange!

Leave a Reply

