Farewell Peyton

Standard

Let me start off by saying that I am not a sports fanatic by any stretch of the imagination, but I do enjoy watching them from time to time, ALWAYS rooting for the home teams (Colts and Pacers). So I was a little bothered to see that Jim Irsay chose not to keep Peyton Manning. Yeah, I understand that it is “business”, but after 14 years it should be more than that. It is not as if he took the year off to pursue hedonistic activities.

I guess it bothers me how dispensable people are and reminds me of my job. Every secondary teacher in our state’s largest school system will receive pink slips by April 1st. We are being evaluated, heavily scutinized and critiqued. It’s getting petty and ugly. Teachers are being written up for being a few seconds late (literally) to midday meetings or if they are “caught” sitting in the classroom.

And no, I don’t make a fraction of what Peyton makes. But I can relate to being the subject of scutiny and disposed for something better. It doesn’t matter how long you’ve been with the “team.” I think I can safely speak for the majority of our city when I say that he will be missed.

Image via Google

6 responses »

  1. This may be by far the most ignorant move that the Colts have ever made. For one, Peyton offered to give up all salary if he couldn’t play this upcoming season. For 2, even if Peyton can never play again, his instincts about the game and his football knowledge make him well worth a coaching contract. The Colts should have offered him a coaching contract and gotten pen to paper as quickly as they could. Andrew Luck might be the number one pick and he might have great potential but he doesn’t have Peyton’s experience and he could be a big flop in the NFL. I might laugh if he is at this point. I’m really mad that the Colts did Peyton this way. I don’t care if it is a business.

    I will definitely be following Peyton’s career wherever it may take him if he can still play.

  2. Might I add I hope Peyton wins a championship no matter where he goes! I also hope that Irsay’s enterprise never prospers! He has pissed off a myraid of fans and no “Luck” can change that!

  3. There are 6 teams interested in Peyton. I’m sure he’ll go wherever he feels is right for him. I hope wherever it is, they beat the _______ out of the Colts. I am disgusted with Jim Irsay. I don’t care how good Luck was in college, he still has no experience play pro ball. So many of those #1 picks make it to the pros and fall flat on their faces. I hope Luck is one of them.

Leave a Reply

