Hallmark Moment

Standard

I’m in the process of cleaning out the garage to get rid of much of the clutter I have accumulated in my life.  I have a huge bin full of cards given to me.  I am too sentimental to get rid of them.  But what good are they stored away? I googled “greeting card albums” and found a few.  However, I think I can create my own.  I’m sure I have over 300 cards!

Plus I think it would be nice to flip through the album periodically to read some of them and remember the times…

What do you guys do with old cards? Toss, recycle, crafts, keep–do tell!

7 responses »

  1. I’m like Stacy and kweenmama, I save the “important” ones — family, husband, kid, and anything really kind, caring, poignant or important. Other than that, they go out with the recycling.

    It’s too bad there isn’t some easy way to transfer cards to fabric. It would be kind of cool to make a quilt of the pictures/sentiments to have with you always. Perhaps a big wall hanging? Nah. I think that would be TOO disjointed.

    Good luck on the memory book. Are you going to sort by date, giver, occasion, event, year? I think this sounds really fascinating. It’s like a timeline of your life. It would almost make a cool blog — 365 days of cards (since you ALMOST have that many). They could be scanned in or have a digital picture. THAT would be interesting.

    No matter what you do, I know it will be fabulous because you are. Have a very happy Tuesday.

    • Girl, I save the generic ones from my insurance agent! Lol, but I’m getting ready to PURGE!

      A quilt would be awesome! I don’t know how I am going to do it, likely by occasion.

      Thanks, mi amigo, likewise!

  2. Yeah, I’m entering the echo chamber. I keep the really sweet ones from hubby, kids and good friends. I have a hard time throwing away cards. I think you have the right solution in putting/preserving them in a memory book.
    You’ve inspried me to do the same!

  3. When my kids were little I used to cute them out in cute shapes and put contact paper over them and make place mats. You can always use some of the really pretty ones as scrap-booking paper.

Leave a Reply

