Wives Behaving Badly

Standard

I thought this article was thought provoking.  Sometimes we are guilty of this.  I remember when my husband would wash the dishes and leave water all over the counter.  That is what caught my attention–the water and not the perfectly washed dishes.

Let’s try speaking words of encouragement to our spouses and see things in the best light possible.  Remember Proverbs 15:4 A gentle tongue is a tree of life, but perverseness in it breaks the spirit.

7 responses »

  1. Whenever I hear someone complain about such trivial matters concerning their spouse I always want to ask, “Does he/she lie to you? Are they cheating on you? When they leave the house, do you have to wonder if they are really going where they said they were going? Do they make big purchases such as vehicles and computers without asking your input, and then yell at you when there is no money to cover monthly bills?” THOSE are the issues I dealt with in my first marriage. To me, the trivial stuff isn’t worth complaining about. If you have a spouse who is honest, loyal, kind, a hard worker, and who cares about you and how you feel, count your blessings. There are many who don’t. Let the little things like water on the counter, toothpaste on the mirror, and socks on the floor go!

  2. So true, I make sure I don’t make comments like that or if I do I try to sugar coat them. If I don’t like the way he does the dishes I don’t say anything to him, I just re-wash the dish. I don’t want him to say that he doesn’t do them right so he shouldn’t wash them anymore. I’m lucky my husband does the dishes, I’m not messing that up LOL

    I have friends with bad husbands, mine is great and I do my best to remember that, even when he is being obnoxious and acting like a child.

  3. This is such a good reminder and I just had to bite my tongue last night. Ever since I got sick my husband “helps” me with a lot of household chores. At first I went behind him and redid everything and finally I thought, let it go. Stop doing that. We both do the dishes after supper and just last night I was upset because my husband “appeared” to be just standing at the sink but what I didn’t see was that he’d already rinsed and put all the dishes in the dishwasher. I felt so bad. What a clod. He’s so good to me and I don’t notice it nearly enough.

  4. I have learned that I am so thankful when my husband does acts of service for me that I don’t care how he does it. It’s easy for me to let go of those little things because he does so many sweet things for me! 🙂

  5. I find this really hard, actually. And I’m working on recognizing the good things he does and not finding fault with how he does them.

    But when my daughter is wearing a really weird, unmatching outfit, and I’m the one who has to be seen with her all day…. That’s what makes it hard. (And sort of embarrassing.)

    • It is hard, but keep practicing and it becomes easier. Plus the more you recognize the good they do, the more they are likely to do!

      Lol, how old is your daughter? Five and under can get away with strange ensembles.

Leave a Reply

