Letting Go

Standard

Monday a friend and I went through my husband’s clothes.  The night before I had made the decision to do this.  I spent a short while crying but was determined to do it anyway.  It was time.

He loved clothes, shoes, and assessories and was quite the shopping companion.  He was very patient and never bucked at me trying on numerous things.  He loved the mall as much as I did.   As a result of this, he had a very extensive, expensive wardrobe.

I thought I would have a difficult time completing the task, but I didn’t! My friend who helped me was very respectful during this proces.  I had a story to tell for almost every item.  We even managed to laugh at his few fashion faux pas.  Three hours later we dropped off two huge bags to  Goodwill, one to a close friend of his, two bags for my brothers, one for my dear uncle, and a final bag for my friend.   Nicholas only took a few t-shirts to sleep in.  I even saved a few trinkets for Ethan and Evan.

It makes me feel better knowing that his clothes are not just sitting around  collecting dust.  I will get so much pleasure from seeing others putting them to use.

7 responses »

  1. I’m sure that was a very hard thing for you to do Morocco. I’m equally sure that the boys will appreciate you saving them some of their dad’s things.

  2. I can only imagine what you are going through. I don’t know if you read it before I took it down but my dad had a heart attack on 9/11. It was pretty bad and he almost didn’t make it, if he would have waited 5 minutes longer to call he might not be here right now. When it happened I thought of you and what you might have experience with your husband.

    My heart aches for you and I pray you will continue to find the strength to do all you need to do.

  3. Serendip~

    Hi, no, I didn’t get to read it! I am glad he is okay!!! Yes, it is a long journey and I’m just hoping that soon my mourning will turn into dancing!

  4. Be patient with yourself. We all mourn in different ways. It sounds to me like you are handling things in a healthy way. I read a thought today: “Today’s test is tomorrow’s testimony.” I believe there is a lot of truth in that statement. God will get you through this.

  5. What a difficult thing to have to do. I can only admire your courage. Take care and I think Kween is right. Everyone is different and these things take time. I’m happy if you feel better.

  6. I cannot imagine how difficult it was for you to do that, Morocco. You are an amazing person, and I send you tons of hugs and positive energy.

Leave a Reply

