A Diet Dr. Pepper and a Smile

Standard

Monday afternoon I received some very sad news.  My mom and stepdad’s dear friend, Terry, died.  I immediatedly started crying as I listened to his SIL’s voicemail.  I called to tell George and he was clearly devastated.  Terry was his “buddy.”

Terry and my mother attended the same dialysis clinic for years.  My mother loved him, and he likewise.  Everytime we talked she would tell me the lastest stories about him.  Terry was also the stepfather to a boy I had a major crush on in high school, so that scored more points for him!

When my mother died Terry was at the service sharing his memories of her.  That meant a lot to me.  He reached out to us in our time of need.  A few months ago, we all went out to dinner and had a great time.  He was such a charming, eccentric person, and the perfect gentleman.

After I calmed down a few hours later, I called his SIL to get information about the arrangements.  I thought I was okay but I starting crying again.  She replied Now you know Terry wanted everyone happy.  He didn’t want anyone crying.  He left specific instructions  to be cremented.  Half of his ashes will go in a Diet Dr. Pepper bottle (his favorite beverage) and spread over one of the Canadian mountain ranges.  The rest will go to his family.  He didn’t want a funeral, but he wanted a party to celebrate his life.    LOL, I should have known!  Everytime I see a Diet Dr. Pepper, I’ll think of him! 

I was telling my friend Kara about his request when she mused that since we both loved tea, maybe we should get cremated and have our ashes placed in teabags!

Of course, George and I  will be there on Saturday to help celebrate his life over Diet Dr. Peppers and lots of smiles.

4 responses »

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss Morocco. Very sorry. I was wondering why you were so quiet this week. I hope it all goes well for you tomorrow and George is okay with it. It must be hard to see your friends pass.

    Good luck and your in my thoughts.

  2. Morocco, I am so sorry for your loss. I can not even imagine how difficult this must be for you right now. You’re in my thoughts and prayers.

  3. Morocco, how lucky you were to have known such a man. He lived life! That is the best attitude! It may be hard, but carry out his wishes…with a smile! 🙂

  4. Nice post Morocco, I am so sorry to hear of your loss. He must have had a wonderful sence of humor the Diet Dr. Pepper. Each person is such an individual it’s the small things that often come to mind. I wonder how my family would feel keeping me in a coffee can.:+).

Leave a comment