School of Fashion

Standard

My students think it is a part of their role to critique my clothing and assessory choices.  Everyday I am surveyed from head to toe.  Then I have to listen their comments about what I have on that day.  I think the focus is more heightened because they wear uniforms.   And there are only so many things one can say about khaki pants and polo shirts.

Yesterday they did not like my lace socks paired with ballet flats.  I know because I heard all about it!

And they always complain about the green marbled sweater coat that I put on when I get chilly (which is all the time).  They call it the “ugly old bathrobe.”  They really get bent out of shape when it doesn’t match what I am wearing!

The one Friday that I wore a pair of Coach sneakers, I was the talk of the school!  No one thought I even owned a pair of tennis shoes, I was informed.

Once when I was not wearing my wedding ring, a male student asked if I was “mad” at my husband! 

Today it was my shoes.  I happen to like them and think they are quite cute and quaint.  Many kids agreed with me.  But several wondered why I had on “old lady” shoes at my age?  One of my students called them girl “leprechaun” shoes and asked if I was looking for “me gold”!  Another student inquired “Where you think you going in those shoes?!”   But they liked the pair of diamond barretts in my hair, so they gave me “points” for those.

A front view

A front view

 

A side angle

A side angle

Of course they have opinions about EVERYTHING!  Their junior fashion critiques add a little humor to my day.  Not to mention, it is a good springboard for teaching fact versus opionion!

These received the stamp of approval

These received the stamp of approval

7 responses »

  1. Morocco, I love them all! WOW, those shoes are styling! Without the right shoes, why bother getting dressed in the am!!! LOL Keep those kids looking..like you said, good training in etiquette! Ha Ha Ha

  2. I think it is great that you have such a relationship with your students that they are comfortable critiquing what you wear. I’m sure you are able to open up all sorts of conversations with them.

    Something I’ve learned living with six teenagers is that they have an opinion obout EVERYTHING! 🙂

  3. Kweenmama~

    It doesn’t bother me at all. Although as a student I never would have been brazen enough to tell any of my teachers what I thought of their wardrobes. The times have changed. Some of the this behavior I attribute to the lack of tact and decorum. I am fond of the saying “it’s not what you say, it’s how you say.” I guess I am “lucky” in that they “like” my style 95% of the time.

  4. I agree with Kween. I think it’s very endearing that they feel close enough to you do have these talks with you. If they didn’t like you or feel close to you, they wouldn’t say a word. Good job.

  5. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your shoes! I give you a lot of credit for even being able to walk in heels! I’m afraid I would completely flunk out in the fashion test from your students. Since I work at home, all I care about is comfort! Cute post!

  6. you’re fancy! i have …. i don’t know how many pairs of shoes. less than 20. less than 10. well, that’s not true. i love tennies. i love keen shoes and simple shoes. every time i go shopping for fancy work shoes, i end up with another pair of keen shoes.

    i like the “it’s not what you say, it’s how you say it.”

Leave a Reply

