Soul Food

Standard

I really relish a good meal and food comforts me in many ways.  It plays such a big part in our lives–from wedding feasts to repast meals.  Frankly I don’t want to be anywhere that food is not!  I like to cook and bake as an expression of love and appreciation.

I need something to munch on when I’m watching movies or reading an intriguing book.  In fact, this weekend I am going “slumming” at a friend’s house.  We are going to watch “Slumdog Millionaire.”  The evening wouldn’t be complete with snacks! I’ve requested spicy garlic hot wings from BW-3 and a couple of Red Velvet Elvis’.  I plan to bring the champagne cola.  But my friend has a well-stocked pantry, so I know I will be able to eat to my heart’s delight.

Food serving  as a comforter is not a novelty.  I feel embraced by meatloaf, mashed potatoes with gravy, and southern fried corn.  It’s just so inviting!  With every bite I take it’s like going home again!  I also like hearty breads slathered with rich, creamy butter.  And pancakes, casseroles, and chicken and dumplings, grits (with butter, cream, and sugar!), sausage and gravy biscuits…the list is endless. 

What about you?

11 responses »

  1. Thanks! I wasn’t hungry….until I read this great post! You are SO right! I forgot all this! It is the right way to look at food, I agree! People are always worrying about their diets! You can still eat all the good foods you mentioned, in moderation. I enjoy creamy foods, like yogurts, ice cream, soups, mashed potatoes, etc….but, I will eat most anything….except beef or pork! Yuck!

  2. I love “home cooking” foods. There is nothing I enjoy more than curling up under my comforter with a good book and a HUGE bowl of popcorn. There is something so “safe” about it. We used to really enjoy our meals and it was about more than just eating. We shard our day and we just enjoyed being with each other and food just happened to be the center point for that. People don’t eat like that much anymore. We’re in to much of a hurry.

    Come to think of it, I’m hungry now too!

  3. I too enjoy many many different foods. Moderation is the key, as Doraz mentioned, unfortunately I need to moderate more then I do.

    That said, I find it very satisfying to cook a dish or meal. I understand why persons become chef’s.

    From pasta to meat dishes, to greek food, east indian food, etc. I could go on and on. Not to mention fondue’s, finger eating.

  4. Creamy cheesecake or a bite of creamy ice cream. Or a juicy bite of fruit. Or coconut covered in dark chocolate. Those things rush an energy and comfort through my veins like nothing else.

  5. Great, now I have to go exercise some more! Just reading this put some extra junk next to my trunk (not a big booty, just large pockets on my thighs. Oh MY!).

    I love food. I don’t know about moderation, so I have to avoid things. However, when I go to IA to visit my mom, I don’t bother. I eat and enjoy it. Then I come back to CA and return to my regular diet.

    With the exception of meat (I don’t eat mammals), I like most everything. Food is love. BTW, do you watch Top Chef? I am loving Carla and her adding love to her food sentiment. I totally get that too.

    Comfort food is chicken and noodles, tuna casserole, breakfast for dinner, Mississippi Mud Cake, broccoli rice casserole, mac and cheese, lasagne, and twice baked potatoes. DAMN.

    I’m going to bed before I eat!

    Enjoy your weekend.

  6. Suzanne~

    No, I’ve never seen “Top Chef”, but I do like cooking shows! Last night we had breakfast for dinner. I wanted to try the peach butter I made on waffles.

  7. Most of my life I have been tall and thin my mother has a similar body type. When I am very upset or experience feelings of loss I loose my appetite. One thing that helps me is when I am upset to at least eat my favorite food.Like Avocado, cottage cheese, or fruit or swiss cheese basically what ever sounds good. I try to at least something . It sure is hard to eat when you don’t feel like it I understand .

Leave a Reply

