This Thing Called Love

Standard

Listening to myself talk and reading what I write, I’ve noticed how loosely I use the word love to describe things that in all actuality, I simply like a lot or enjoy.  The thought of tossing the L-word about brings back memories of my childhood.  We used to have a phrase, If you love it so much, why don’t you marry it!  “It” could have been a myraid of things.

Well, if that isn’t food for thought, I don’t know what is.  I love reading but I don’t think a book would make a good spouse. 

I also love calamari but I couldn’t imagine saying “I do” to breaded squid! Not to mention I love tea as well, although if I married it, wouldn’t it just evaporate over time?! 

I am not married to my career (though I do love my kids!) and on my deathbed I won’t regret not grading more papers or spending countless hours afterschool. 

There is a whole long list of things that I profess to love. (Shoes, purses, clothes, hot baths, blogging, warm covers, hot chocolate…to name a few)

But I’ve come to realize that what I love the most are people–not things.

10 responses »

  1. I like this. I use love a lot too, and I know it’s gotten to be an overused term, but I think the “love” we use in everyday life is just different from the love we have for a person.

  2. I love this post! I do agree, love is used to describe SO many things in our lives..but that is OK! If you love something, it is way better than if you hate something!-)* Hope your week is going well!

  3. Love and hate really are overused but I do feel that something you love, that is an object, isn’t the same love you have for you spouse of your children. I do overuse love. I’ve been told that before but…..I love love.

  4. Ha ha, that phrase was used the other night in our home about a slice of cheesecake. It reminds me of a Family Guy episode where Peter is marrying an apple pie, right before he proceeds to eat it.

    This was a great post. I do that a lot too with the word “love” about things I greatly like. I’ve even alternatively used the word “Adore” in place of love.

Leave a Reply

