On Washing Feet

Standard

If I then, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet.  For I have given you an example, that you should do as I have done to you.  John 13:14-15

I am undertaking a challenge to metaphorically wash the feet of others.  I’ve talked to Nicholas about this and he has a solid grasp of the concept and was able to convey how he has done this for others.  When Ethan and I helped Mr. Landis (our neighbor) pick up the sticks in his yard after the storm. 

For me this is not simply repaying those who have been kind to me.  It will take creativity on my part to come up with ways to do this.  I want my acts of service to be meaningful and heartfelt.  I believe opportunity will present themselves.  I am actually looking forward to the challenge!

5 responses »

  1. I always try to bring a smile to a strangers face when I am out every day. It is a hard thing to do sometimes, but when they smile….I am HAPPY for them! Good Luck!

  2. Oh Morocco, I talk to my daughter about that very concept all of the time. Often when she is taking a bath, I will take her feet, washing them and recounting the story of Jesus washing the feet of others. What a lovely thing to remind us of. Thank you!

  3. This is a good reminder. I also think that Jesus was trying to teach his disciples that a good LEADER will serve those he is leading, that that leader should not consider him/herself above others. Lovely post!

  4. Great post. Smiling at strangers is such a wonderful thing to do and presents something you might not have seen before. This weekend my sister was walking on the beach and smiled at a little old lady. The lady was so happy and showed her a humpback whale swimming close to shore. Had she not smiled at the stranger she would have missed the huge whale swimming so close to the shore.

    Last night I took K-boy to dinner in a tiny pizza place. We just sat down at a table for 4 when a family of 8 came in with a little old lady. The only seats left were 4 high chairs at the bar. I told K-Boy that we were going to give the family our table but he didn’t want to so I told him to go over to the old lady and offer our table to her/them. Her daughter so happy and thankful that we did that for them. I thought it was a good thing for K-Boy to see. Being generous is so good for your soul. I hope he got that message.

    There are so many opportunities out there, enjoy the benefits 🙂

  5. We receive by giving to others, as we open up that channel by doing so. You are right Morocco, you will know what is best for each individual. Excellent!!

Leave a Reply

