Lost Mind Found

Standard

Sympathy-harmony of or agreement in feeling, as between persons or on the part of one person with respect to another.

Symphony-harmony of sounds.

Yesterday when I grabbed the mail from the box, I noticed that our carrier left me a treat.  I read the card first and immediatedly teared up at its message of condolence.  Through a haze of tears I looked at the giant candy bar and couldn’t believe my eyes!  The name of it was “Sympathy!”  How depressing, morbid, and strange!  The economy must really be in dire staits if Hershey’s had created a line  of candy bars solely for the grief stricken I thought.  While her gift was a kind gesture, I didn’t want an edible reminder of my loss–especially in the form of chocolate!

I looked again to make sure that my eyes were not playing tricks on me.  SYMPATHY, it screamed in bold letters.  I felt even more despondent wondering how I would stomach the “Sympathy”  bar.  Wanting to make sure I hadn’t lost my mind, I wiped my eyes and took another peek at the label.  I started laughing hysterically in relief when I saw that it said Symphony and not Sympathy

LOL!

LOL!

5 responses »

  1. Isn’t it strange how our mind does things like that to us? I know I probably would have read it the same way. My 9 year old always says, “Sometimes a girl just needs chocolate!”

  2. Been There~

    Our mail carrier delivers more than just mail for sure! She was very friendly with us and would always spend a few minutes talking to my husband or myself when we went out to get the mail.

Leave a Reply

