Mixed Messages

Standard

While eating dinner tonight I received a text message from Eliza’s sister’s phone.  It read:

Hi Morocco tell Nicholas Ethan says hi

I was surprised…and pleased.  I excused myself from the dinner table and went into my bedroom.  I started to cry.  Today I just felt the weight of the world on my shoulders and did not expect this.  I shakily responded with emotion:

Hi baby!  I love and miss you boys very much!  I hope you two never forget about us! I’m sending Evan many birthday wishes tomorrow! Nicholas said hey and he misses and loves you both! Always your stepmom, Morocco

The response:

Next time we are in town can we  come get our things. p.s next time we are in town can we come see u and nicholas call after u text back (They were in town last week and their aunt did not attempt to call, text, or allow them to visit us.  Why didn’t she try to get their stuff then?)

Of course! Anytime, your father’s home is always you and Evan’ shome.  We will call after dinner.

Then I started wondering if Ethan even sent the text in the first place?  I found it odd that he immediatedly asked for their things.  It has almost been three months.  I hope by now the aunt has purchased new clothes for them.  Plus, the uncle had told me that they did not need any items from our house because he bought all new stuff for them.  Had they did things the right way and not sent the police to my house at 1:30am; they would have had their possessions already.

I had only been back at the table for ten minutes or so when my phone rang and it was them.  They called two more times,  and sent a text saying PLEASE CALL.  Five minutes or so later, I got this text:

Morocco what is the new home number so I can call

I have decided that I will pack their things up and take them to Eliza’s cousin’s house (with the cousin’s permission).  I do not want her family at my home nor can I even stand the sight of her sister.  And I don’t want the boys thinking that I am holding their stuff.  I’m sure it would bring them comfort to have it.  Then maybe her familywill leave me alone once and for all!  I am not going to give them the home number because I don’t want that family calling! 

But I am glad I had an opportunity to say a little of what I was feeling even if it was just the aunt who was really texting me.  I know I have to let them go and I have already made peace with it.

7 responses »

  1. I wouldn’t give them my home number either. Why do they need the home number if they have your cell?

    I’m sure that they boys miss you and love you. I think you’re doing the right thing!

  2. Based on how Eliza and her brother has done things in the past to try and get over on you, I would not be suprised that the sister would  try the same things and use your well known  love for the boys to trick you into opening up yourself to her so she can get things from you. She knew by pretending to be the boys sending you a text that would probably be the best way to get you to respond to her request to get their items from you, plus get a home number that she and maybe brother could use to contact you when ever they felt like it. If it really was the boys wanting to talk, why not leave a voice message letting you hear their voices leaving the message?  I think you are doing the right thing by getting their items to them, but not letting the sister come to your house. This will be another step in the direction of putting Eliza and her family out of your life. 

  3. Joy~

    I agree!!! They have to be self-centered, unbalanced people just for the very fact that they are being disrespectful to their nephews’ father’s memory. I feel so sorry for the boys! But I continue to pray for them.

    Old Friend~

    Well this morning I got a voicemail at 6:42am from Ethan. He asked me to call back. Before disconnecting I heard him telling his aunt in the background how money I used to give Nicholas for allowance before they came to live with us. Strange! I guess they think I am money bags or something!

  4. Stacy~

    I will be careful. I really feel that Eliza and her sister have a hidden agenda or two. I am not going to take any calls or reply to any more text messages; not even from the boys. I have to cut them all loose for now.

Leave a Reply

