Take a Bow

Standard

Tonight two of my girlfriends and I had dinner and a movie.  We went to see The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.  When I saw the commercial on tv last night, I thought it looked pretty intriguing so I searched online and viewed two other trailers for the film.  I definitely knew I wanted to see it.

I won’t ruin it for anyone who hasn’t seen it yet, however, I will say that it is so poignantly charming and tender despite its somber undertone (death is everywhere, but life is, too!).  I cried and loved Benjamin right from the start.  I wanted to bring him home with me!

 My tears came for many reasons:

  • My husband loved movies and would have enjoyed this one with me
  • Essentially it is a love story (not just romantic) and reminded me of how much I miss him
  • Having danced ballet virtually my whole life and as a part time teacher, I really loved this facet of the movie
  • The beautiful and timely message that you have to accept both the joys and pains of life
  • The acting was superb

Thankfully I had my two lovely friends there for support.  They graciously allowed me to cry unashamedly.  Walking out of the theatre I had a fresh flow of tears just thinking about how fleeting life really is.  One of my friends joked that perhaps we should have watched The Tale of Despereaux  instead!

But I do wonder what F. Scott Fitzgerald would have thought of this silver screen adaption of his short story…now that’s just the English teacher in me talking!

3 responses »

  1. Morocco, the movie sounds like a good movie to want to see. It also sounds like it was a good time for you to see it. Holding in emotions both new and old is never a healthy thing to do. Keeping things bottled up inside can cause your body to become weak and ill. We are exposed to many things that sometimes trigger memories, that will make you feel like expressing happy or sad emotions. It is great that you have friends and family around you that when that urge hits you to let those emotions out, that you feel comfortable enough to do it.

  2. I’m so glad you had your wonderful friends to do something with, and they were there for support. I think crying is so cleansing for the soul. *Great Big Hug*

Leave a Reply

