Go Tigers!

Standard

Today was Nicholas’ final game for the championship.  The Tigers started off strong.  However, they ended up losing the game by a touchdown and a field goal.

The final score

The final score

Understandably the kids were crushed.  They still managed to do their rallying cry “Who has fire in the belly? We do!” after their defeat.  A few of the kids had tears in their eyes, my son included.

After the loss

After the loss

I really wanted the boys to win.  They had a great team and only lost one game their entire season.  They made it to the very end.  I was glad to see the coaches and us parents reinforcing that they were still winners regardless.  The head coach had a celebration for the boys at his house afterwards. 

But there was a lesson in this loss.  It showed the kids that it is not always possible to win for whatever reason.  Learning this concept early on is a good thing.  I never want my son to be shattered by a loss of any kind.  It’s okay to be disappointed but not depressed.  I hope we are cultivating this attitude in Nicholas. 

I was proud at how we all came together to remind the boys of the importance of maintaining a winning attitude.  I went around congratulating both teams.  One player’s mom had her arm around Nicholas as she reminded him that they still had next year.  He smiled at this thought and it was a beautiful thing.

Go Tigers!!!!

2 responses »

  1. What a great thing to teach. We also were watching football this weekend while my stepson played in his semi-final game. He caught an interception and took it in for a touchdown. I don’t know who was more excited, my stepson or my husband.

Leave a Reply

