Simple Pleasures Saturday

Standard

Today I was able to work in the yard for a little bit.  We had a tree and a bush cut down as well.  Some people don’t like yard work because it can be rather laborious, but working outside really soothes me.

There is something about working so close to the earth that makes me feel closer to God.  Maybe because we are made from the earth.  It is my quiet time to reflect.  I take pleasure in appreciating God’s gifts of nature.  I also enjoy having a neat and attractive yard.

I spent my time raking leaves, sticks, and trash that was hidden under the bush.  While raking, a long “stick” walked across my foot!  I am repulsed by bugs and was a bit frightened by the “stick.”  I looked at him closely and noticed his square head and observant eyes.  His underbody was a vivid green color. 

I thought he was a walking stick and called my neighbor over to confirm it. The “stick” was actually a preying mantis.  He seemed friendly enough and didn’t bother me, so I continued with my work while he surveyed the scene.  However, I kept a careful watch on him from the corner of my eye.  I didn’t want him to pounce on me unexpectantly. After all, he did traipse across my foot without permission!  I soon became fascinated with this little creature and grabbed my camera.

My Little Friend

My Little Friend

I plan to spend a little bit of time each day getting things ready for the fall.  I would like to winterize the grass, clean out the flowerbeds, remove the summer decorations from the porch and replace them with autumn items, trim the bushes one last time, and eventually rake the leaves once they begin falling.

4 responses »

  1. What a lovely way to spend the day! I LOVE the fall, it’s my favorite time of year. It’s always nice to spend time out in nature just being and appreciating the beauty that God has created. 😀

  2. That sounds like a wonderful way to spend a Saturday. I look forward to the day that I can have a garden of my own to work in. I too love being out in nature.

  3. Crazy – I was closing up the house on Wednesday night and a preying mantis flew at me. At the time I didn’t know what it was but when I saw it crawling up the wall I didn’t have the heart to smash it so I saved in a bowl to show the boys when they woke up and then I let it go.

    Is there something like with ladybugs, that when a preying mantis crosses your path you will have good luck or money$$$?? Just wishing.

Leave a Reply

