Cut!

Standard

Today when I picked Jazmine up from the sitter’s, I thought something looked different about her hair.  When I got her home I saw that she only had three ponytails.  I sent her with four.  I took a closer look at her hair and noticed that it had been sawed off in places.  I became frantic realizing that that one of her ponytails had been cut off!

As I was surevying the damge, I took the hair band off of the third ponytail and her “ponytail” fell into my hand!  She only had two ponytails!  What was left of her hair was shiny and hard.  Examining her scalp, I found glue residue.  I immediatedly started crying and washing what was left of her hair. 

I quickly called the sitter to find out what had happened.  I wanted to know if she had ingested any of the chemical.  She did not know because she had been asleep. She claimed that her husband was supposed to be keeping an eye on Jazmine and her four-year-old grandchild.  I was furious!!!  I contacted the local Poison Control Center and they said she would be fine.

It was finally revealed that her grand-daughter put eyelash glue in Jazmine’s hair.  I guess when her husband saw what had happened, he panicked and tried cutting the glue out of the hair.  He was not there when I picked Jazmine up.  Obviously he did not want to face my wrath.  I was so disgusted with her that I hung up the phone.  I did not want to hear any lame excuses.

She has bald patches and two clumps of hair.  I have no other choice but to get it cut very close to the scalp.  I am upset.  I blame myself because I selected the sitter.  Had I known she was so irresponsible, I would have never entrusted my niece to her care.

I hate that she will have to have a fade at age two!  Every cloud does have a silver lining, no matter how faint.  It could have been something far more sinister.  Also, winter is around the corner.  I will just have to find her the cutest hats possible. 

Suffice it to say, that sitter will not be caring for my niece ever again.

8 responses »

  1. I’m so sorry this happened to Jazmine. I bet she’s so darn cute that she could be shaved slick bald and she’d still be gorgeous as ever. You know halloween is around the corner, I bet you could find some fun wigs for her to play with, I loved doing that as a kid. My grandmother sold wigs and we loved going to her house and wearing the different ones.

    I’m actually shocked at the babysitter and her husband. Don’t blame yourself, Morocco, there’s no way you could have known they were like this. Just chalk it up to experience and go on.

    You know this might be a good thing because Jazmine’s hair will easily grow back, and this might have been God’s way of leading you out of there before something worse happened.

  2. I can’t believe they didn’t tell you when you picked her up. I agree with Stacy that it is good you removed her before something worse happens.

    There are some really cute hair accessories on Etsy!

  3. Good thing you decided to find another sitter. That was is just WAY too irresponsible. But there are all kinds of cute hair accessories for little girls. Thank God it’s hair and it grows back and it wasn’t something more serious!

  4. Ladies~

    Thanks for the support! Stacy, you are so right, Jazmine is really adorable and still is even with her fade! Crys, as soon as I can, I will be out shopping for assessories like mad (thanks for the link!)! JAG, I’ll be looking on Etsy tonight. Amy, absolutely, it is only hair and it will grow back.

    As you all pointed out, I am very thankful that it wasn’t something more serious. I’m with you Stacy, I think it was God’s way of letting me know that she was not being supervised. Lesson learned!

  5. That is just horrible! I can not imagine just ‘going to sleep’ while I was watching another child…wait, I can’t imagine it while I am watching my own child!

    I am glad she is ok…and safe. Sitters are so hard to figure out!

    My sister had to get the same kind of cut when she was about 4…but hers was a bad hair cut given by me (as a 6 year old.). I am sure she will still be adorable and now you can teach her about choosing the right accessory (right hat) with an outfit!

Leave a Reply

