Simple Pleasures Saturday

Standard

I started scrapbooking about two years ago.  Really, it was a natural choice because I am creative and crafty.  I also love making things pretty.  I have dabbled with it my whole life in more rudimentary forms.  Of course, I was all for baby and toddler books and completed them with glee.  

The first “real” scrapbook I made was for my MIL.  After that, I was pretty much hooked.  I love shopping at Micheal’s and Hobby Lobby for paper and embellishments.  I try to be original and fresh with each layout.  The sky is really the limit here.  Sometimes I even impress myself with the ideas I come up with!

While scrapping can be expensive, it doesn’t always have to be.  I have made books before using things I already had at home–“found art” is what it’s called.

Scrapping relaxes me.  I can grab my supplies, put on my Ipod, and the hours quickly pass by.  Each layout that I create is special to me.  I love showing the finished results to friends, family, and students.

If our house was large enough, I would devote a room soley for my hobby.  It is easy to accumulate scrapping materials.  And if I had a room, I bet I would find more time to do it.  I wouldn’t have to worry about lugging boxes and bags out–I could just go in my designated room and scrap away.

At the present time I am working on several, one for my mother, the class of 2007 (my favorite group of students), our trip to The Dells, and a football themed one for Nicholas.  Unfortunately, I don’t have a lot of time to devote to this simple pleasure.  But that is what makes it even more enticing to me.

3 responses »

  1. I’ve never tried scrapbooking, although I have a lot of friends that do it, some with their own scrapbooking rooms. I’m glad you have something that gives you relaxation and is a creative outlet for you. I’m a calligraphy artist and I make custom invitations from time to time, so I might just have to try scrapbooking as I could easily merge the three creativities together. My problem would be the same as yours though, time and room! Happy scrapbooking, Morocco! =D

  2. I have so many scrapbooking supplies and not enough time to use them. I used to work one night a week at a scrapbook store in exchange for “stuff.” I had everything. That was a few years ago though and now they have invented all kinds of new tools. 🙂

  3. My 16 year old does scrapbooking and I love to work with him on it. If I ever find time, I’d like to do one for the kids. If I ever find time.

    Hope all is going well with you!

Leave a Reply

