Whitney Houston–Not!

Standard

Yesterday on the drive from my stepfather’s house I was in a singing mood.  Let’s just say that I have no talent for singing.  I believe I am tone deaf.  I can’t even carry a tune.  While it sounds great to me, I can tell by the expression of others that that is not the case.

It was only Jazmine and me in the car so I felt comfortable performing.  Besides, what does a toddler know about singing?  I started with “Ice Cream” by Sarah McLaughlin.  I thought Jazmine would get a kick out of my serenade.

As soon as I sang a few bars she screamed “shut up!”  This is her new favorite word that we are trying to stop her from using.  I gave her a mini lecture reminding her that “shut up” was not a nice thing to tell someone.  There are nicer ways to let a person know that you don’t want to hear them.  You can say things such as be quiet or even hush, I continued. 

She stayed silent.  Satisfied that she got the message I continued singing.  A few seconds later Jazmine said, Then be quiet and huss!  I guess toddlers know something about singing afterall!

5 responses »

  1. LOL! I can see Jazmine’s face all screwed up telling you to “shut up.”

    I can’t sing either but I do anyway, as loudly as possible. It’s good for the soul!

  2. That’s pretty funny. From my work in child development I picked up the whole “Please stop doing [insert action] because I don’t appreciate it. It makes me feel [insert emotion].” But “Please be quiet and hush!” is more direct and to the point. he he.

  3. I sing all the time. Tonight as my students were leaving I was singing directions to each of them. They thought I was crazy. 🙂 My own children constantly tell me to be quiet.

Leave a Reply

