Meal Time Antics: The Food Critic

Standard

Wow!  It’s hard to believe I have been away from the site for a month now.  Dealing with everything has left me drained.  My grandmother was released from the hospital four days ago and is regaining her strength.  Kierra is healing well and actually started summer school.  She has two weeks left!  In one week Kierra will be with us for her second half of summer vacation.  I traveled to Phoenix to help my mother move to Seattle.  Then of course there is Ian and Imani!  Needless to say I have been extremely busy.

We are still adjusting to Ian and Imani being with us full time.  I am off work for the summer so I have been at home with them during the day.  Ian started waking me up every morning by banging on the bedroom door.  The first time he did this, it scared me silly.  I had a headache for the rest of the afternoon.  Finally my husband started leaving the television on Sprout for them until I woke up.

While school was in session I normally left the house before my husband and the kids.  So I did not know what he fed them for breakfast.  Since I have been home I have had “spats” with Ian about what they would eat for breakfast.  Imani pretty much goes with the flow.  Ian insists on having Pop Tarts for breakfast.  I had something else in mind, like cereal, rice, sausage, toast, and fruit, not all at once, but different variations of this.  On occasion I would fix pancakes which he loves and expects everyday.  He would sit at the table and pout.   I  would remind him that if he didn’t start eating his cereal they would become soggy.  Relunctantly he would eat his cereal.

We have the same exchange for lunch.  Ian is content eating hotdogs and noodles everyday for lunch and dinner for that matter.  I explain to him that there are other things he will have to eat.

Dinner time is a whole new experience.  Ian, Imani, and my husband are usually outside while I am preparing dinner.  On occasion I will ask them what they want to eat.  Imani always says baked spaghetti.  You all already know what Ian wants.  Hotdogs and noodles!

Sunday was no different than any other day.  I cooked sliced steak marinated in lemon juice and soy sauce poured over a bed of rice with zucchini.  As soon as Ian came in and washed his hands and sat at the table he started complaining.

Ian- ugh, I do not like cucumbers.

Me- Those are not cucumbers, it’s zucchini.

Imani-I like zucchini.

Ian- Well, I do not like that either.

Husband- Yes you do.  You liked it when we went to Benihana.  You also ate it when Rhonda made it last week.

Ian- I do not remember eating it at Benihana.

Husband- You ate everything we ordered for you.

Ian- I do not remember that.

Ian starts pushing the zucchini to the side of his plate.  He then eats the steak.

Ian- Ugh, this meatloaf is hard.

Me- It’s steak.

Ian-I do not like staek.

Me- You ate it when we went to Texas Road House.  You also ate it when Grandma fixed it.

Silence for a while….

Ian-Yucky, yucky, yucky.

Husband- Ian you are going to eat your food.  If you have to sit here all night you will eat it.  ( I remember those exact words said from my mother’s mouth when I was a kid!)

Everyone finished eating before Ian.  One by one we got up from the table.  Usually we sit there and talk until everyone is done but I had enough of the sound effects coming from Ian.

Ian and Imani think snacks are things they receive if they eat all of their food.  Or things that you eat if you don’t want what is being served for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.  Explaining the concept of a snack has left me with a headache plenty of times.

In time I hope the road to dinnertime with become less bumpy.

3 responses »

  1. Welcome back Rhonda, it’s nice to hear that your family is doing well. It does sound like you have been busy during your time away. Don’t let little Ian get to you too much, he’s just doing what little ones his age do. ( You say the glass is half full, he will say it is half empty).(smile) Every family has a Ian in it…. It’s a beautiful thing

  2. Rho~

    Your situation reminds me so much of my relationship with Ethan. You know all too well how rocky it’s been. Easier said than done, but I encourage you to hold on because trouble doesn’t last.

    Also I was thinking about little Ian. As undesirable as he can be at times, he probably really loves you a lot. I think he might need help processing his feelings regarding the death of the only mother he’s ever known, your MIL. Perhaps that’s why he has a hard time calling you Mommy. He could see it as an act of betrayal. It’s easier to accept your husband as Daddy because he’s never had one. Maybe you could read to him some books on the subject to see if he is willing to talk about it.

    And as far as his dinner time antics surrounding the myraid of things that he doesn’t like, I thought of an idea that might make him realize that some of the foods that he doesn’t like, he does in fact like them when they are prepared a different way. I know he HATES cucumbers but likes pickles. So why don’t you try making pickles with him and Imani? It’s really simple to do, but most importantly, it might motivate him to have an open mind about things (hopefully more than just food).

    Wishing you well,

    Mo

  3. Thanks, Old Friend! It’s good to be back. I’m still as busy as ever. Hopefully soon I will find my niche.

    Mo~Yes, I do remember. I am slowly but surely accepting this as a learning experience. You know, all of us adjusting to one another.

    I would love to make pickles with the kids. You know Imani likes to help me around the house. Remember the lost bananas? (Imani helped me put up groceries and put the bananas is the freezer.) LOL!!!

    I have often thought that Ian is still grieving the passing of my MIL. He loves for me to read to them before bed. So the book idea is great!

    Rhonda

Leave a Reply

