Brainstorming For Evan

Standard

Visiting Evan at the residential treatment psychiatric hospital reminds me a lot of visiting Eliza in prison.  It makes me so sad and so mad.  But when we see him, I try to put all of that aside so that I may enjoy our time with him.  He has been there for five months now.  Evan has made a lot of progress, but not quite enough to come home yet.  He is still having trouble handling his anger.  I have written about Evan before in a past post titled Evan Almighty.  In case you haven’t read it, he is comorbid and suffers from ADHD, ODD, PTSD, and BD. 

I have been brainstorming ways to make his transition from residential treatment to home go smoothly.  Here are the following things that I have come up with:

·        Continue private counseling

·        Continue to monitor his school to make sure that they follow his IEP

·        Get him involved in a low risk extracurricular activity

·        Continue journaling with him so he can explore his emotions in a healthy manner

·        Resume his visits to see Eliza to help maintain the bond they have

·        Continue attending the ADHD support group that I have joined

·        Continue with positive reinforcements

·        Continue setting good examples for him to follow

·        Continue spending one-on-one time with him

·        Continue reading literature regarding his problems

·        Continue praying for his recovery

The facility is located three and half hours from our home and our next visit will be in two weeks.  (I hate that gas in our city is $3.95 a gallon!)  Hopefully by then he has earned a pass so that we can at least go out for ice-cream and maybe to the park.  I am sending him a care package this weekend to tide him over until then. 

I wrote asking Eliza for ideas but she did not have any.  Therefore, I would appreciate any suggestions that you readers may have. 

Note:

Today when I walked into work, I noticed a coworker carrying a stack of Newsweek magazines. The cover read “Growing Up Bipolar: One Family’s Struggle To Raise A Troubled Son” Of course, I grabbed a couple for me and my husband!

7 responses »

  1. I’m a step mom to a 6 year old girl and mom to a 2 year old boy. I previously worked w/children in restidential settings. The one thing I found was that it was more of an adjustment for the family rather than the child in the journey home. While individual counseling is so beneficial for Evan, I’m thinking that family counseling or joint sessions would also benefit your entire family. Evan is learning how to cope in a very structured setting. Applying those tools when in a home setting can be very challenging. I always recommended family counseling to the parents as well because you too need new parenting tools that assist in Evan growing, changing, and ultimately becoming a better him. You all are in my thoughts and prayers.

  2. Kat~

    Thank you for the idea. The more I reflect on it, the more that it makes sense to do. Afterall, we are all in this together! I will also check out the book “Finding Hope.”

  3. I would suggest utilizing an Educational Consultant to assist you in this transition. A qualified consultant will have working knowledge of local schools, therapists and other options for assisting you family in maintaining the discharge plan. I don’t know where you are located but, in California, Bodin has several offices. It may worth checking them out at http://www.thebodingroup.com.

  4. Brenda~

    Thanks for stoping by. Unfortuantely, The Bodin Group does not have any midwestern locations. However, I will check into getting an educational consultant.

  5. Kweenmama~

    Thank you, it does take a lot of effort and commitment. I try to keep the Golden Rule in mind when dealing with this situation, however, lately it has been a real struggle!

Leave a Reply

