Triskaidekaphobia

Standard

            My stepson Ethan will be 13 in roughly three months.  I am dreading his birthday like Friday the 13th.  I feel scared…13 is a teenager—I will be living under the same roof as a teenager!  This fact blows my mind.  I don’t know what to do! It feels so awkward and alien. He is not a child anymore and I am not familiar with anything but.

            I remember my own angst filled teenage years.  I know it is a prickly time. Unfortunately his mother will miss this period of his life.  I am thankful that my husband is here to guide him through.  I am content to remain on the sidelines.

            However I have been reading up on male adolescence and puberty to prepare myself.  I am trying to allay my fears and think positively.  Our bio son is 9 and his time is not too far off.  I am going to use this as a learning experience. 

 

Leave a Reply

