Adjustments

Standard

 

            Hi, I’m Rhonda, friend of Morocco and the co-creator of this blog.  I have been married going on nine years now.  I am the non-custodial Ommy to 13 year old step-daughter Kierra.  I have no bio-children.  A month ago my husband and I inherited two children, Ian 5 and Imani 4.

            Kierra’s visitation is every other weekend, every other holiday, 5 weeks during summer vacation, every other spring break, and one week during Christmas vacation.   When Kierra was younger we had first right of refusal if her mom had to work.  We won this in one of our court hearings with her mom.  So we were able to see her more than the scheduled visitation.  We continue this practice even though she is old enough to be at home alone for short periods of time.  She enjoys being at our home and asks to come over every chance she gets. 

            We are all adjusting to the new additions to our family.  To go from one child part-time to two full-time is a huge change.   My husband and I pretty much lived the care free life when Kierra was with her mom.  Now, if we want to have some alone time it has to be after 9:00 p.m.  Finding a baby sitter has also been a challenge.  Our schedules have been altered tremendously. 

            Kierra is having a hard time with not being the only child anymore.  She has an older sister by her mom but at our house she was the baby, until now.  Ian and Imani need extra attention.  We are trying to spread all our time and love around.  Kierra is not the center of attention anymore.  We have talked to her and assured her that she is still our baby girl.  Since that conversation she has stepped right into the big sister role.  It is so hilarious at times.  She fusses like she is the mommy.  Then there are times when she babies them.

            This is my brief intro.  I have been so busy with the new additions to my family.  Hopefully things will settle down soon.  I have so much to share about my journey being an Ommy.

5 responses »

  1. You do have a lot to get adjusted to–but I know how strong you are and I know that you will create some type of harmony from your situation. All three kids are lucky to have you.

  2. Rhonda and Morocco….what is an “Ommy” exactly?

    Rhonda, thanks for telling us a bit about yourself.

    I am a step-mother to Noah (9) and Michaela (6). We have the kids every other week, as my husband and his ex have dual custody. I do not have any bio kids, although I hope to change that in the next year or so. It’s been a tough path, one I am still forging and defining every day, little by little.

  3. Hello Natzgal,

    Welcome! Ommy means other mommy. Morocco is very creative. She is responsible for making Ommy a part of our step-mom vocabulary.

    I know all about traveling down a rough road.

    How do you like the 50/50 custody arrangement?

  4. Pingback: 50% Step-Mom « Meandering Ramblings…

Leave a Reply

